The Dawn of Egyptian Art Art Exhibit May 12–Aug 5, 2012

The Dawn of Egyptian Art - Art Exhibit in New York.
Collapse map / See photo gallery
+
Add to list

During the Predynastic and Early Dynastic Periods (ca. 4000–2650 B.C.), people living in the Nile Valley began recording their beliefs through paintings, sculptures, and reliefs made for their shrines and tombs. These... ... read more

The Dawn of Egyptian Art Schedule

May 12 Sat
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
May 13 Sun
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
May 14 Mon
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
May 15 Tue
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
May 16 Wed
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
May 17 Thu
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
May 18 Fri
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
May 19 Sat
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
May 20 Sun
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
May 21 Mon
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
May 22 Tue
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
May 23 Wed
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
May 24 Thu
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
May 25 Fri
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
May 26 Sat
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
May 27 Sun
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
May 28 Mon
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
May 29 Tue
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
May 30 Wed
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
May 31 Thu
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jun 01 Fri
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jun 02 Sat
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jun 03 Sun
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jun 04 Mon
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jun 05 Tue
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jun 06 Wed
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jun 07 Thu
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jun 08 Fri
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jun 09 Sat
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jun 10 Sun
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jun 11 Mon
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jun 12 Tue
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jun 13 Wed
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jun 14 Thu
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jun 15 Fri
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jun 16 Sat
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jun 17 Sun
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jun 18 Mon
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jun 19 Tue
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jun 20 Wed
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jun 21 Thu
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jun 22 Fri
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jun 23 Sat
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jun 24 Sun
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jun 25 Mon
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jun 26 Tue
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jun 27 Wed
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jun 28 Thu
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jun 29 Fri
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jun 30 Sat
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 01 Sun
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 02 Mon
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 03 Tue
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 04 Wed
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 05 Thu
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 06 Fri
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 07 Sat
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 08 Sun
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 09 Mon
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 10 Tue
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 11 Wed
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 12 Thu
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 13 Fri
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 14 Sat
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 15 Sun
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 16 Mon
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 17 Tue
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 18 Wed
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 19 Thu
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 20 Fri
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 21 Sat
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 22 Sun
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 23 Mon
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 24 Tue
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 25 Wed
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 26 Thu
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 27 Fri
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 28 Sat
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 29 Sun
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 30 Mon
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 31 Tue
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Aug 01 Wed
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Aug 02 Thu
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Aug 03 Fri
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Aug 04 Sat
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Aug 05 Sun
The Dawn of Egyptian Art

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar

See Full Schedule

Hide Full Schedule

The Dawn of Egyptian Art Description

During the Predynastic and Early Dynastic Periods (ca. 4000–2650 B.C.), people living in the Nile Valley began recording their beliefs through paintings, sculptures, and reliefs made for their shrines and tombs. These works of art capture the evolving world view of these early Egyptians. Images of people, animals, and landscapes, some of which give rise to hieroglyphs, include forms and iconography that remained in use throughout the art of Pharaonic Egypt. This exhibition brings together some 175 objects gathered from the Metropolitan Museum's important collection of early art and from the collections of twelve other museums in the U.S. and Europe to illustrate the origins and early development of ancient Egyptian art.

Never miss out on a big event in New York again! Sign up for our weekly email and get reminders about major events!

Book Now and Save at Hotels.com

Are we missing a venue or event?
Find your scene