Signs & Symbols Art Exhibit Jun 28–Oct 28, 2012

Signs & Symbols - Art Exhibit in New York.
Collapse map / See photo gallery
+
Add to list

Drawn from the Museum’s deep holdings of paintings, sculpture, drawings, prints, and photographs, Signs & Symbols sheds new light on the development of American abstraction during the critical postwar period of the mid... ... read more

Signs & Symbols Schedule

Jun 28 Thu
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jun 29 Fri
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jun 30 Sat
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 01 Sun
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 02 Mon
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 03 Tue
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 04 Wed
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 05 Thu
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 06 Fri
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 07 Sat
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 08 Sun
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 09 Mon
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 10 Tue
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 11 Wed
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 12 Thu
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 13 Fri
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 14 Sat
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 15 Sun
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 16 Mon
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 17 Tue
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 18 Wed
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 19 Thu
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 20 Fri
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 21 Sat
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 22 Sun
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 23 Mon
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 24 Tue
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 25 Wed
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 26 Thu
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 27 Fri
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 28 Sat
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 29 Sun
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 30 Mon
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jul 31 Tue
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Aug 01 Wed
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Aug 02 Thu
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Aug 03 Fri
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Aug 04 Sat
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Aug 05 Sun
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Aug 06 Mon
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Aug 07 Tue
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Aug 08 Wed
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Aug 09 Thu
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Aug 10 Fri
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Aug 11 Sat
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Aug 12 Sun
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Aug 13 Mon
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Aug 14 Tue
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Aug 15 Wed
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Aug 16 Thu
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Aug 17 Fri
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Aug 18 Sat
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Aug 19 Sun
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Aug 20 Mon
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Aug 21 Tue
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Aug 22 Wed
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Aug 23 Thu
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Aug 24 Fri
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Aug 25 Sat
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Aug 26 Sun
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Aug 27 Mon
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Aug 28 Tue
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Aug 29 Wed
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Aug 30 Thu
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Aug 31 Fri
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 01 Sat
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 02 Sun
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 03 Mon
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 04 Tue
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 05 Wed
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 06 Thu
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 07 Fri
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 08 Sat
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 09 Sun
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 10 Mon
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 11 Tue
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 12 Wed
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 13 Thu
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 14 Fri
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 15 Sat
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 16 Sun
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 17 Mon
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 18 Tue
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 19 Wed
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 20 Thu
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 21 Fri
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 22 Sat
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 23 Sun
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 24 Mon
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 25 Tue
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 26 Wed
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 27 Thu
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 28 Fri
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 29 Sat
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 30 Sun
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 01 Mon
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 02 Tue
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 03 Wed
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 04 Thu
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 05 Fri
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 06 Sat
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 07 Sun
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 08 Mon
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 09 Tue
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 10 Wed
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 11 Thu
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 12 Fri
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 13 Sat
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 14 Sun
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 15 Mon
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 16 Tue
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 17 Wed
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 18 Thu
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 19 Fri
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 20 Sat
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 21 Sun
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 22 Mon
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 23 Tue
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 24 Wed
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 25 Thu
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 26 Fri
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 27 Sat
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 28 Sun
Signs & Symbols

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar

See Full Schedule

Hide Full Schedule

Signs & Symbols Description

Drawn from the Museum’s deep holdings of paintings, sculpture, drawings, prints, and photographs, Signs & Symbols sheds new light on the development of American abstraction during the critical postwar period of the mid-1940s to the end of the 1950s. Many artists active in this period who are often overlooked—Will Barnet, Forrest Bess, Charles Seliger, and Mark Tobey, among others—developed abstract work that remains distinct from many of the concerns associated with the canonized Abstract Expressionists, including large-scale canvases and gestural brushwork. Instead, the exhibition presents a more nuanced narrative, focused on the figurative and calligraphic “signs and symbols” present in much of the highly controlled work from this period and included in this show. In many cases, this work drew inspiration from specifically American sources and sought to foster a national aesthetic distinct from European Surrealism and Cubism. These investigations formed an important foundation for a future generation of artists—including Jasper Johns and Roy Lichtenstein—who later incorporated highly individualized systems of signs into their own work while embracing distinctly American subject matter.

Never miss out on a big event in New York again! Sign up for our weekly email and get reminders about major events!

Book Now and Save at Hotels.com

Are we missing a venue or event?
Find your scene