The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages Art Exhibit Aug 28, 2012–Feb 3, 2013

+
Add to list

Manuscripts and their illuminations played a central role in fostering and expressing the devotion of Christian faithful during the Middle Ages. As the word of God, biblical phrases were introduced by elaborate initial... ... read more

The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages Schedule

Aug 28 Tue
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Aug 29 Wed
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Aug 30 Thu
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Aug 31 Fri
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 01 Sat
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 02 Sun
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 03 Mon
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 04 Tue
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 05 Wed
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 06 Thu
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 07 Fri
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 08 Sat
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 09 Sun
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 10 Mon
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 11 Tue
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 12 Wed
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 13 Thu
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 14 Fri
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 15 Sat
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 16 Sun
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 17 Mon
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 18 Tue
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 19 Wed
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 20 Thu
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 21 Fri
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 22 Sat
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 23 Sun
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 24 Mon
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 25 Tue
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 26 Wed
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 27 Thu
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 28 Fri
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 29 Sat
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Sep 30 Sun
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 01 Mon
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 02 Tue
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 03 Wed
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 04 Thu
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 05 Fri
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 06 Sat
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 07 Sun
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 08 Mon
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 09 Tue
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 10 Wed
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 11 Thu
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 12 Fri
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 13 Sat
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 14 Sun
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 15 Mon
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 16 Tue
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 17 Wed
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 18 Thu
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 19 Fri
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 20 Sat
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 21 Sun
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 22 Mon
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 23 Tue
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 24 Wed
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 25 Thu
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 26 Fri
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 27 Sat
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 28 Sun
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 29 Mon
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 30 Tue
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Oct 31 Wed
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Nov 01 Thu
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Nov 02 Fri
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Nov 03 Sat
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Nov 04 Sun
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Nov 05 Mon
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Nov 06 Tue
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Nov 07 Wed
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Nov 08 Thu
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Nov 09 Fri
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Nov 10 Sat
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Nov 11 Sun
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Nov 12 Mon
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Nov 13 Tue
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Nov 14 Wed
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Nov 15 Thu
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Nov 16 Fri
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Nov 17 Sat
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Nov 18 Sun
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Nov 19 Mon
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Nov 20 Tue
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Nov 21 Wed
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Nov 22 Thu
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Nov 23 Fri
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Nov 24 Sat
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Nov 25 Sun
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Nov 26 Mon
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Nov 27 Tue
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Nov 28 Wed
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Nov 29 Thu
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Nov 30 Fri
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Dec 01 Sat
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Dec 02 Sun
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Dec 03 Mon
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Dec 04 Tue
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Dec 05 Wed
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Dec 06 Thu
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Dec 07 Fri
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Dec 08 Sat
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Dec 09 Sun
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Dec 10 Mon
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Dec 11 Tue
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Dec 12 Wed
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Dec 13 Thu
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Dec 14 Fri
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Dec 15 Sat
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Dec 16 Sun
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Dec 17 Mon
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Dec 18 Tue
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Dec 19 Wed
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Dec 20 Thu
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Dec 21 Fri
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Dec 22 Sat
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Dec 23 Sun
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Dec 24 Mon
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Dec 25 Tue
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Dec 26 Wed
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Dec 27 Thu
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Dec 28 Fri
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Dec 29 Sat
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Dec 30 Sun
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Dec 31 Mon
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jan 01 Tue
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jan 02 Wed
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jan 03 Thu
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jan 04 Fri
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jan 05 Sat
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jan 06 Sun
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jan 07 Mon
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jan 08 Tue
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jan 09 Wed
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jan 10 Thu
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jan 11 Fri
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jan 12 Sat
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jan 13 Sun
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jan 14 Mon
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jan 15 Tue
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jan 16 Wed
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jan 17 Thu
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jan 18 Fri
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jan 19 Sat
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jan 20 Sun
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jan 21 Mon
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jan 22 Tue
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jan 23 Wed
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jan 24 Thu
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jan 25 Fri
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jan 26 Sat
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jan 27 Sun
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jan 28 Mon
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jan 29 Tue
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jan 30 Wed
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Jan 31 Thu
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Feb 01 Fri
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Feb 02 Sat
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar
Feb 03 Sun
The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages

Art Exhibit

Add to Calendar

See Full Schedule

Hide Full Schedule

The Art of Devotion in the Middle Ages Description

Manuscripts and their illuminations played a central role in fostering and expressing the devotion of Christian faithful during the Middle Ages. As the word of God, biblical phrases were introduced by elaborate initial letters; narrative stories about Christ or the saints were pictured in detailed miniatures; and borders brimming with fantastic scenes focused attention on important texts. Drawn entirely from the Getty Museum's collection, this exhibition looks at manuscripts that not only helped medieval viewers celebrate Christian beliefs but also—with their lavish decoration in precious pigments and gold—served as material testaments to the piety of their owners.

Never miss out on a big event in Los Angeles again! Sign up for our weekly email and get reminders about major events!

Book Now and Save at Hotels.com

Are we missing a venue or event?
Find your scene