Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation Art Exhibit Aug 25–Dec 2, 2012

Pop Culture:  Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation - Art Exhibit in Los Angeles.
Collapse map / See photo gallery
+
Add to list

Pop Art first arose in the early 1960s when artists began to draw inspiration from the new mass media that was transforming the world. This exhibition, organized to mark the Weisman Museum's formal dedication on September... ... read more

  • Address:

    The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)

    24255 Pacific Coast Highway
    Malibu, CA 90263

    Get Directions

Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation Schedule

Aug 25 Sat
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Aug 26 Sun
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Aug 27 Mon
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Aug 28 Tue
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Aug 29 Wed
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Aug 30 Thu
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Aug 31 Fri
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Sep 01 Sat
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Sep 02 Sun
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Sep 03 Mon
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Sep 04 Tue
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Sep 05 Wed
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Sep 06 Thu
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Sep 07 Fri
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Sep 08 Sat
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Sep 09 Sun
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Sep 10 Mon
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Sep 11 Tue
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Sep 12 Wed
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Sep 13 Thu
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Sep 14 Fri
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Sep 15 Sat
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Sep 16 Sun
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Sep 17 Mon
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Sep 18 Tue
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Sep 19 Wed
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Sep 20 Thu
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Sep 21 Fri
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Sep 22 Sat
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Sep 23 Sun
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Sep 24 Mon
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Sep 25 Tue
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Sep 26 Wed
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Sep 27 Thu
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Sep 28 Fri
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Sep 29 Sat
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Sep 30 Sun
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Oct 01 Mon
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Oct 02 Tue
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Oct 03 Wed
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Oct 04 Thu
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Oct 05 Fri
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Oct 06 Sat
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Oct 07 Sun
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Oct 08 Mon
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Oct 09 Tue
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Oct 10 Wed
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Oct 11 Thu
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Oct 12 Fri
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Oct 13 Sat
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Oct 14 Sun
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Oct 15 Mon
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Oct 16 Tue
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Oct 17 Wed
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Oct 18 Thu
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Oct 19 Fri
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Oct 20 Sat
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Oct 21 Sun
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Oct 22 Mon
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Oct 23 Tue
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Oct 24 Wed
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Oct 25 Thu
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Oct 26 Fri
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Oct 27 Sat
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Oct 28 Sun
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Oct 29 Mon
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Oct 30 Tue
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Oct 31 Wed
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Nov 01 Thu
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Nov 02 Fri
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Nov 03 Sat
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Nov 04 Sun
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Nov 05 Mon
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Nov 06 Tue
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Nov 07 Wed
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Nov 08 Thu
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Nov 09 Fri
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Nov 10 Sat
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Nov 11 Sun
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Nov 12 Mon
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Nov 13 Tue
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Nov 14 Wed
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Nov 15 Thu
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Nov 16 Fri
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Nov 17 Sat
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Nov 18 Sun
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Nov 19 Mon
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Nov 20 Tue
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Nov 21 Wed
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Nov 22 Thu
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Nov 23 Fri
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Nov 24 Sat
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Nov 25 Sun
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Nov 26 Mon
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Nov 27 Tue
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Nov 28 Wed
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Nov 29 Thu
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Nov 30 Fri
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Dec 01 Sat
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar
Dec 02 Sun
Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

Art Exhibit

The Frederick R. Weisman Museum of Art (Malibu, CA)
Add to Calendar

See Full Schedule

Hide Full Schedule

Pop Culture: Selections from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation Description

Pop Art first arose in the early 1960s when artists began to draw inspiration from the new mass media that was transforming the world. This exhibition, organized to mark the Weisman Museum's formal dedication on September 12, 1992, explores the roots of this movement as well as the way subsequent generations of artists have drawn inspiration from popular culture. 



The 1960s are represented by vintage and iconic works by founding Pop artists such as Andy Warhol, James Rosenquist, and Tom Wesselmann. The complete set of Warhol's silkscreens titled Marilyn Monroe in 10 different color combinations captures the era's fascination with glamour and celebrity. In Rosenquist's Sketch for "Fire Pole" Expo 67 Mural Montreal Canada, the artist shows us only the shoes and lower legs of a man and a metal pole. He could be either a firefighter rushing to save a life or a dancer at a discotheque. 



The pioneering Pop artists provided an example for younger artists to draw inspiration from the world around them. Art produced in the 1970s and after reflects a myriad of complex influences, ranging from comic books and graffiti to video games and cell phones.



Wit, irony, and humor are recurrent themes. Jose Luis Quinones' Crushed Orange is an immense photorealist canvas of a crushed can of Orange Crush soda. In his hands, a brand name becomes a physical object, rendered with painstaking, meticulous realism. Joel Morrison's bronze Alligator Shoes depicts a pair of shoes made of reptile leather, complete with menacing alligator teeth.



While some artists were content with borrowing imagery from television, the pioneering video artist Nam June Paik went so far as to create a sculpture made from assembled televisions. His Michelin Man Laser Robot combines television sets from different eras, blending obsolete and current technology. His work reminds us that television is an inescapable experience in the modern world.



Never miss out on a big event in Los Angeles again! Sign up for our weekly email and get reminders about major events!

Book Now and Save at Hotels.com

Are we missing a venue or event?
Find your scene