MOCA Presents "Rebel" Art Exhibit May 15–Jun 23, 2012

MOCA Presents "Rebel" - Art Exhibit in Los Angeles.
Collapse map / See photo gallery
+
Add to list

Rebel is an interrogative ode to Nicholas Ray’s masterpiece Rebel Without A Cause (1955), conceived by James Franco to embrace and mine the main themes and events in the original film. The exhibition reinterprets the film... ... read more

MOCA Presents "Rebel" Schedule

May 15 Tue
MOCA Presents "Rebel"

Art Exhibit

JF Chen
Add to Calendar
May 16 Wed
MOCA Presents "Rebel"

Art Exhibit

JF Chen
Add to Calendar
May 17 Thu
MOCA Presents "Rebel"

Art Exhibit

JF Chen
Add to Calendar
May 18 Fri
MOCA Presents "Rebel"

Art Exhibit

JF Chen
Add to Calendar
May 19 Sat
MOCA Presents "Rebel"

Art Exhibit

JF Chen
Add to Calendar
May 20 Sun
MOCA Presents "Rebel"

Art Exhibit

JF Chen
Add to Calendar
May 21 Mon
MOCA Presents "Rebel"

Art Exhibit

JF Chen
Add to Calendar
May 22 Tue
MOCA Presents "Rebel"

Art Exhibit

JF Chen
Add to Calendar
May 23 Wed
MOCA Presents "Rebel"

Art Exhibit

JF Chen
Add to Calendar
May 24 Thu
MOCA Presents "Rebel"

Art Exhibit

JF Chen
Add to Calendar
May 25 Fri
MOCA Presents "Rebel"

Art Exhibit

JF Chen
Add to Calendar
May 26 Sat
MOCA Presents "Rebel"

Art Exhibit

JF Chen
Add to Calendar
May 27 Sun
MOCA Presents "Rebel"

Art Exhibit

JF Chen
Add to Calendar
May 28 Mon
MOCA Presents "Rebel"

Art Exhibit

JF Chen
Add to Calendar
May 29 Tue
MOCA Presents "Rebel"

Art Exhibit

JF Chen
Add to Calendar
May 30 Wed
MOCA Presents "Rebel"

Art Exhibit

JF Chen
Add to Calendar
May 31 Thu
MOCA Presents "Rebel"

Art Exhibit

JF Chen
Add to Calendar
Jun 01 Fri
MOCA Presents "Rebel"

Art Exhibit

JF Chen
Add to Calendar
Jun 02 Sat
MOCA Presents "Rebel"

Art Exhibit

JF Chen
Add to Calendar
Jun 03 Sun
MOCA Presents "Rebel"

Art Exhibit

JF Chen
Add to Calendar
Jun 04 Mon
MOCA Presents "Rebel"

Art Exhibit

JF Chen
Add to Calendar
Jun 05 Tue
MOCA Presents "Rebel"

Art Exhibit

JF Chen
Add to Calendar
Jun 06 Wed
MOCA Presents "Rebel"

Art Exhibit

JF Chen
Add to Calendar
Jun 07 Thu
MOCA Presents "Rebel"

Art Exhibit

JF Chen
Add to Calendar
Jun 08 Fri
MOCA Presents "Rebel"

Art Exhibit

JF Chen
Add to Calendar
Jun 09 Sat
MOCA Presents "Rebel"

Art Exhibit

JF Chen
Add to Calendar
Jun 10 Sun
MOCA Presents "Rebel"

Art Exhibit

JF Chen
Add to Calendar
Jun 11 Mon
MOCA Presents "Rebel"

Art Exhibit

JF Chen
Add to Calendar
Jun 12 Tue
MOCA Presents "Rebel"

Art Exhibit

JF Chen
Add to Calendar
Jun 13 Wed
MOCA Presents "Rebel"

Art Exhibit

JF Chen
Add to Calendar
Jun 14 Thu
MOCA Presents "Rebel"

Art Exhibit

JF Chen
Add to Calendar
Jun 15 Fri
MOCA Presents "Rebel"

Art Exhibit

JF Chen
Add to Calendar
Jun 16 Sat
MOCA Presents "Rebel"

Art Exhibit

JF Chen
Add to Calendar
Jun 17 Sun
MOCA Presents "Rebel"

Art Exhibit

JF Chen
Add to Calendar
Jun 18 Mon
MOCA Presents "Rebel"

Art Exhibit

JF Chen
Add to Calendar
Jun 19 Tue
MOCA Presents "Rebel"

Art Exhibit

JF Chen
Add to Calendar
Jun 20 Wed
MOCA Presents "Rebel"

Art Exhibit

JF Chen
Add to Calendar
Jun 21 Thu
MOCA Presents "Rebel"

Art Exhibit

JF Chen
Add to Calendar
Jun 22 Fri
MOCA Presents "Rebel"

Art Exhibit

JF Chen
Add to Calendar
Jun 23 Sat
MOCA Presents "Rebel"

Art Exhibit

JF Chen
Add to Calendar

See Full Schedule

Hide Full Schedule

MOCA Presents "Rebel" Description

Rebel is an interrogative ode to Nicholas Ray’s masterpiece Rebel Without A Cause (1955), conceived by James Franco to embrace and mine the main themes and events in the original film. The exhibition reinterprets the film’s legends, the people involved, its place in Hollywood, film as a medium, and behind-the-scenes footage, in a new, fresh, and unconventional presentation of film, video installation, photography, painting, drawing, and sculpture, housed in and framed by iconic Hollywood structures.


In Rebel, the contributions of each artist are combined to capture the spirit of the original film through references to the auto and motorcycle culture of the 1950s, which James Dean was a part of; teenage angst and issues of identity back then, related to identity now; patrilineal exchange, and the relationships of father and son, and mentor and student; male and female sexuality; fiction and fact; and Hollywood and the art world. The Chateau Marmont is one of the central points in Rebel, and perhaps the single most significant reference and home to Hollywood behind the scenes life, acting as a linking structure to the exhibition, and to several of the works presented.

Never miss out on a big event in Los Angeles again! Sign up for our weekly email and get reminders about major events!

Book Now and Save at Hotels.com

Are we missing a venue or event?
Find your scene